UPCOMING EVENT

Home / Page /
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
a photo of objects with Indigenous bead and quill work

EAC/ACB Speaker Series: Naomi Smith

Please join us this year for a free series of webinars featuring an interesting collection of needlecraft artisans. We hope you enjoy the diverse selection of speakers invited to inspire you and your passion for embroidery. Our speakers all come with a specific area of interest and specialty, and we will cover a wide variety of disciplines in the needle arts throughout the series. Join us to learn more about the history, techniques, and traditions of the world of embroidery. First up in the series is Naomi Smith of Black Tulip Designs.

Naomi is an Indigenous artist and educator. For over 25 years, she has shared traditional knowledge teachings with various communities and groups. Her work focuses on the ways of the Indigenous people of the Great Lakes region from a historical and contemporary perspective, often through the story of beads. Naomi’s artwork embraces ancestral designs using quillwork, beadwork, and other Indigenous methods and materials. She has exhibited her work across Canada and internationally.

Free for EAC/ACB members! Registration links were sent to chapter presidents and individual members.

October 15th, 2022

Pacific Time: 12:00 PM

Mountain Time: 1:00 PM

Central Time: 2:00 PM

Eastern Time: 3:00 PM

Atlantic Time: 4:00 PM

Newfoundland: 4:30 PM

Details

Date:
October 15, 2022
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
,

Venue

GoTo Meeting

Organizer

Special Events Coordinator
Email:
specialevents@eac-acb.ca