2023 Leonida Leatherdale Award

Diane Scott, Marigold Needle Arts Guild & Toronto Guild of Stitchery, What I Learned at Seminar

The first-place winner of the 2023 Leonida Leatherdale Award was Diane Scott. Her entry is titled What I Learned at Seminar. Diane designed these stunning orchids and used various stumpwork techniques to bring them to life.

Kim Beamish, Virtual Threads, Masquerade II

Second place went to Kim Beamish for her original design, Masquerade II. Kim’s three-dimensional mask showcases a variety of embroidery techniques. The base is pulled thread and whitework. The stumpwork is needle lace and pulled thread. Beading is worked on the base and around the piece for embellishment.

Marcella Pedersen, Regina Stitchery Guild,
Marco Polo Blessings

Designed and stitched by Marcella Pedersen, Marco Polo Blessings took third place. Marcella’s piece features blackwork stitches with gray floss to create shading on the linen sails; polyester sewing thread for the stumpwork components; wooden hull, snakeskin net, cotton batting clouds, stretched jersey fabric to create the wavy sea, and polycotton fabric for the sky.

Leave a Comment